Explore Boston

Old Granary Burying Ground

INFO

Contact Information: 
Tremont Street (@ Park Street)
617-635-4505
Description: 
Photograph of a gravestone at the Granary Burying Ground. Downtown office buildings are visible in the background.
This is the third oldest burying ground in Boston proper. It was founded in 1660. In 1737, when grain was stored where the present Park Street Church stands, the burying ground was renamed the Granary. Many famous people are buried at the Granary, including John Hancock, Samuel Adams, Paul Revere, James Otis, the victims of the Boston Massacre along with many Governors and Mayors.Along with Massachussetts Governors, Clergymen, and Mayors. There are 2300 grave markers in the Granary, but it is believed by some that at least 8000 people are buried there.

GETTING THERE

Public Transportation: 

Park Street, on the Red and Green subway lines, is the closest stop.

Entrances: 

The Tremont Street entrance has several steps up.  There is an alternative, accessible entrance off of Beacon Street (see map on Freedom Trail page).  The gate may or may not be locked.  If it is locked, one must contact the Boston Parks Department in order to request that the gate be opened.  There is a Boston Park Ranger office on Boston Common, near the Visitor Information Center.  The number for the Boston Parks Department is 617-635-7383. They can dispatch a Park Ranger to open the gate.

GETTING AROUND

Features for People with Visual Impairments: 

Visitors are allowed to touch the headstones, many of which have ornate carvings.

OTHER

Cautions: 

The main entrance is NOT accessible.  There is an alternative entrance on Beacon Street.  More detail can be found under the "Entrances" heading.